Cookies policy

In order to provide you with the best online experience this website uses cookies.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Wednesday,  June 12, 2024 10:58 AM 

ACTA unveils new board of directors & chair, reinstates regional advisory committees

  • Buzz
  •   05-29-2024  5:01 am
  •   Pax Global Media

ACTA unveils new board of directors & chair, reinstates regional advisory committees
ACTA has elected a new board of directors.(Supplied/Pax Global Media)
Pax Global Media

The Association of Canadian Travel Agencies and Travel Advisors (ACTA) has elected a new board of directors while reactivating its regional advisory committees.

The association, on May 28, held its annual general meeting, where members voted on the nine positions available to the board.

Immediately following the AGM, the newly-elected board of directors appointed three positions to round out the 12-person board.

The new ACTA Board of Directors for the year 2024-2025 is:

  • Mark Greenwood, Director of Operations, Travel Masters, representing British Columbia/Yukon region
  • Peter Keyter, Director and General Counsel, The Travel Lady, representing Alberta/Northwest Territories region
  • Karen Schabel CTM, Training and Development Coordinator, CAA Saskatchewan, representing Saskatchewan region
  • Melanie (Mel) Carter CTM, Director, Travel Product, CAA Club Group of Companies, representing Manitoba/Nunavut region
  • Monica Johnstone CTC, President, UNIGLOBE Travel Innovations, representing Ontario region
  • Serge H. Malaison, Director General, Voyages Centaure, representing Québec region
  • Gary Gaudry, President, Maritime Travel, representing Atlantic region
  • Zeina Gedeon, CEO, Trevello, ACTA Director at Large
  • Brian Robertson, President, Direct Travel (Canada West), ACTA Director at Large
  • Shalene Dudley, CEO Latitude Concierge Travels, ACTA Appointed Director
  • Michael Johnson, President, Ensemble, ACTA Appointed Director
  • Rocky Racco, Owner and CEO, TTI Travel, ACTA Appointed Director.

Monica Johnstone CTC becomes ACTA board chair

For the coming year Monica Johnstone CTC becomes ACTA Board Chair; Vice-Chair: is Mel Carter CTM; Treasurer: Gary Gaudry; Secretary: Brian Robertson.Monica Johnstone CTC becomes ACTA Board Chair. (Supplied)

“I am honoured to take on the role of ACTA Board Chair,” said Johnstone in a statement. “I look forward to working with the ACTA board and other stakeholders to advocate for travel agencies, travel advisors and independent travel advisors.”

Long-term directors leaving the board

Several long-term directors are leaving the board. 

“I would like to thank the following outgoing board members for their dedication and tremendous contribution over many years,” said ACTA president, Wendy Paradis, in a statement. “Liz Fleming, general manager, North South Travel; Geneviève Dupuy-Duplessis, vice-president, Club Voyages Dumoulin; and Mary Jane Hiebert CTC, owner, Oyster Travel Service.

Reactivation of regional advisory committees

Along with ACTA’s national board of directors, ACTA consults with its re-instated regional advisory committees: TALA (Travel Agency Leaders Advisory Group); ITA (Independent Travel Advisor Committee, Canadian Corporate Travel Advisory (CCTA) committee, the Air Advocacy committee and the Travel Supplier committee to ensure all stakeholders have been heard and to enable ACTA to form consensus and speak with one voice. 

A complete list of the Regional Advisory Committees can be found here.

Don't miss a single travel story: subscribe to PAX today!  Click here to follow PAX on Facebook.